National Symbols:

The Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence was the formal statement

announcing that the thirteen American Colonies were now independent states, and no longer a part of the British Empire. The historical document was written by Thomas Jefferson. Eighty-six changes were made by John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Robert R. Livingston, and Roger Sherman. When their final draft was submitted to the Continental Congress, the vote for independence was made. After final revisions, it was released to the public on July 4, 1776. Bells were rung to gather citizens and read the powerful

