## **Texas Annexation Timeline**

Use information in the timeline to answer the questions.

Name

1.	What happened in 1821 that opened the door for American settlers to move to Mexico?
	Spain granted Mexico independence and the territory of Texas came under Mexican rule. Mexican
	officials encouraged American settlers north of Texas to move into Mexican-controlled Texas and
	farm land there.

- 2. List the three main issues that caused conflicts between the American settlers and Mexican government in the early 1830s.
  - a. American settlers did not agree to learn to speak Spanish, the language spoken in Mexico.
  - b. American settlers did not agree to convert to Catholicism, the national religion of Mexico.
  - c. American settlers brought enslaved workers with them to Mexico even though slavery was illegal there.
- 3. What action did settlers living in Texas take in March 1836? How did Mexico respond to this action?

  On March 2, 1836, American settlers formed a provisional independent government while living in Mexican Texas. The Mexican government sent an army into Texas to defeat the rebels.
- 4. Who fought in the Battle of San Jacinto in 1836, and what was the outcome of that battle?

  The independent Texas Republic fought Santa Anna's Mexican army at the Battle of San Jacinto in April, 1836. Texas won its independence by defeating Mexico's military in that battle.
- 5. When did Texas become the 28th state in the United States?

  December 29, 1845
- 6. Why did it take almost ten years for Texas to be annexed as a state in the United States?

  The annexation of Texas was controversial. U.S. southern states supported annexation of Texas, but many northern states opposed adding Texas as a new state because slavery was allowed in Texas.
- 7. Which two rivers were part of the border dispute that caused the Mexican-American War in 1848?

  the Nueces River the Rio Grande River
- 8. What other territories did the U.S. win in the Mexican-American War?

  The U.S. won Mexican territories in California, Nevada, Utah, New Mexico, Arizona, and Colorado, as well as parts of Oklahoma, Kansas, and Wyoming.